Flashback: Fancy meeting you here

I did some driving today but it was pretty slow and there was nothing of note so instead I’m telling a story from my earlier months. This past summer, I pulled over and a police car flashed his lights behind me. The sequence of events I just described probably sounds out-of-order upon analysis but that is exactly what happened. The story begins when I arrived at the pick-up location in Indian Trail at about 2 am only to find no person or building in the location the app told me to be at. I called the rider and they told me they had started walking in the direction of their destination and wanted me to meet them halfway. Given that there was hardly anyone on the road at the time, I thought I’d give it a shot. What followed was me driving for about a mile trying to find someone walking in complete and utter darkness on a rural back-road. In desperation, I pulled over onto the side of the road in order to call the rider again only to have a police cruiser light up my rear-view. The officer came up to the window questioning if I’d been drinking because all he had seen was a car gently weaving before finally turning completely off the road. I explained the situation, but he Breathalyzed me just to be sure. After he let me go back to my car, I called the rider again, got no response, and dropped the trip like dubstep drops bass. Needless to say, while I’ve yet to enforce yet, I’ve since enacted a no-chasedown policy.

Leave a Reply

