Beep, beep. I’m a sheep.

I tried something a little different on the weekdays this time. On both Monday and Tuesday, I wasn’t on the road until about 3 and it resulted in less downtime between rides. But you didn’t come to hear about that stuff. You came for stories about the crazies and other wacky observations so let’s begin. A rider on Monday told me about a past driver who gave him grief for the kind of music he listened to. My personal policy is that they can listen to the stuff off of their device in my car all they like at a reasonable volume since they’re paying for the ride and I can just switch to my stuff after they leave. Half of Monday had me bopping around Concord which is always interesting since it’s relatively unfamiliar territory for me. Tuesday had less trips but they were longer. I split Friday into morning and afternoon sessions since I had plans that night and that had plenty of long trips.

Saturday night, however, deserves its own paragraph. I’m 90% certain that my second ride in the evening was a past rider because the man’s house had a very unique driveway that basically formed a very tight U in front. A pair of guys from Noda were so psyched that I let them smoke in the car that they tipped me a twenty. Coming down from Huntersville to Uptown, I saw the aftermath of a rear-ending in the middle of what was already a narrow, splitting on-ramp on 77 so my heart goes out to those folks. I had a driver-rider who did me a solid by walking a block away from the hot mess that is the Epicenter before requesting his ride. But the highlight of my night was far and above my 8:50 rider. We will call her Bea. From the moment I picked her up, I was Bea’s favorite person. She spent the majority of the ride telling me how much she adored me for picking her up and stopping at two convenience stores so she could buy cigarettes. On the second stop, she offered to get me a new tin of Altoids since I was running low. When the cashier told her they didn’t carry any , she came back and asked me to come in with her. So I decided to humor her, came inside, walked to the candy aisle, and found them in 5 seconds. As we waited in line to ring out, Bea locked arms with me and proceeded to continued doing so until we made it back to the car. Needless to say, I think I have a definitive champion for weirdest Uber passenger thus far.

Finally, to close out this post, it’s food blog time. At the end of the night, I decided I was going to try the Munchie Meal at Jack-in-the Box. The deal consists of one of four heartburn-inducing sandwiches, two tacos, a mix of regular and curly fries, and a small drink for $6 provided you get it in the middle of the night ($8 otherwise). To be fair, the volume of food is a good value for the price but none of the items impressed me. I was especially disappointed because the podcast Doughboys led me to believe that their tacos were supposed to be some sort of divine treat of the fast food world but I found mine to be too dry on the edges and too soggy in the middle. I guess I’ll stick to Steak and Shake for now.

Leave a Reply

